Tofukuji Temple

Hojo Garden

Hojo is the residence of the abbot of a Zen temple. There are four gardens located in the east, west, south, and north, centered around the Hojo, and they are called the “Garden of Eight Phases”, which is compared to the eight phases of the Buddha’s life. 

The East Garden features the Big Dipper, the South Garden expresses the ancient Chinese idea of “Horai Shinzen”, and the West and North Gardens are decorated with moss and paving stones in a checkered pattern. You can feel the story from each garden.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *